Ha'aheo 4th grader a state winner in Google contest

Published On: May 01 2013 01:15:00 PM HST

A fourth grader from Ha'aheo Elementary School in Hilo is one of the 50 state winners in the 6th annual Doodle 4 Google competition.

The contest is open to students from kindergarten through the 12th grade in the U.S.  They have the task of redesigning the Google logo inspired by the theme "My Best Day Ever..."

Alan Perreira's entry was one of the state winners selected from more than 130,000 students who submitted entries this year.  His picture depicts places around the Big Island.

Perreira was honored Wednesday at a surprise assembly by two Google representatives from California.  He hopes to someday become a scientist and part-time artist.

"I've always wanted to travel around Hawaii to see different places and nature, like Mauna Kea, Kona, Waimea, Hilo, turtles, King Kamehameha statute , and listen to local music.  You only find red hibiscus in Hawaii -- that's what makes it special," said Perreira.

Perreira won a trip to New York City for him and his mother later this month along with three personalized t-shirts with his doodle, a 6-foot-by-8-foot foam board of his doodle under a 20-foot-long arch of 242 balloons in Google colors, t-shirts for each student and staff member at the school and stickers.

All 50 state winners will have their doodle displayed in a special exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History in New York from May 22 through July 14.

Starting May 1, the public will be able to vote for their favorite doodle from the 50 state winners and help select five national finalists, one per grade group.  Voting is open until May 10.

Click here to vote.

Google will then announce the five national finalists and one of them as the national winner on May 22 at an awards ceremony at its New York City office, which all 50 state winners will be invited to.

The winning student's doodle will be displayed on the Google homepage on May 23 and will receive a $30,000 college scholarship and a $50,000 technology grant for his or her school.

This year's guest judges include ABC's Katie Couric, Brian Henson and Chris Sanders.


The views expressed are not those of this site, this station or its affiliated companies. By posting your comments you agree to accept our terms of use.
blog comments powered by Disqus