Te'o wins Maxwell Award

Published On: Dec 06 2012 04:31:00 PM HST
Manti Te'o

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o has won the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's most outstanding player.
Te'o was presented with the award Thursday at the Home Depot College Football Awards show at Disney World. He beat out finalists and quarterbacks Johnny Manziel from Texas A&M and Collin Klein from Kansas State.
He is the first defensive player to win the award since 1980, ending a string of nine straight quarterbacks.
It's the sixth national award that Te'o has won since the end of the regular season. The Fighting Irish senior has also has won the Bednarik Award, Butkus Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Lombardi Award and Walter Camp national player of the year award.
The former Punahou star is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented on Saturday.

Te'o passed former Michigan star Charles Woodson's record for national postseasons awards.  Te'o has six postseason awards so far;  Woodson had five awards in 1997, including the Heisman.


The views expressed are not those of this site, this station or its affiliated companies. By posting your comments you agree to accept our terms of use.
blog comments powered by Disqus